2012 and beyonddddddddd

Some people aren’t happy unless they are planning their next trip…like my father-in-law.  We just returned from Antarctica and I am already getting potential itineraries for a four-week trip to India next year.  It sounds totally awesome.  Tigers, buildings, opulent resorts, amazing food.  And best of all, I don’t have to do any planning! 

Don’t get me wrong, I get to contribute.  But the boring parts like airplane tickets, and airport transfers, and hotel choices are decided by someone other than me! 

There are a few problems with a big trip to India in Fall of 2013.  Keith will have graduated from his MBA and there is a chance he will get a new job which means a limited ability to take four weeks off.  And eventually, I probably, maybe, want to have a baby.  Being pregnant in India sounds like a bad idea …  No matter what, four weeks is a long time.  For no really good reason, I’m not sure that I am up for another long trip.

On top of India, we are planning a couple of major trips on our own.  Like when Notre Dame plays Navy in Ireland.  We are totally going.  And we are taking a big group.  Which means that price is a concern and I have to pay attention to the needs of everyone who is going with us. 

So I’m evaluating flights and hotels in different locations to try to make everyone happy.  And it’s boring.  But at least I have one nonnegotiable item.  I’m staying in a castle.  My first trip to Europe (yep, I’ve flown through Europe and spent some time in Greece, but I’ve never been to London or Paris or any other stereotypical european destinations.  Sad, really.) and I am spending the night in a real, honest-to-goodness, castle.  Like a fairy tale.  Or a sappy romance novel.  Now, if I could get Keith to dress like a knight in shining armor riding a white horse … 

Wow, sidetracked. 

Anyway, the problem with this trip is that there are so many options.  Keith and his friends want to recreate their semester abroad in London.  (I’m not so sure about cheap beer, and the walk-about – but I’m keeping that opinion to myself).  And we have to go to Dublin for the game.  But there are so many options for the rest of our trip.  We could go to France, or Scotland, or Germany, or ….  see the problem?

Then in Spring 2013 we want to go to the Galapagos Islands off the coast of Ecuador.  This trip is easier.  There are only so many ways on and off the island, and we are restricted to 8-10 days due to vacation day issues.  All that’s left is picking a hotel or a boat.  (Of course, easier said then done).

I still have to plan a my-side-of-the-family vacation.  The ideas need to be cheap and easy, and it would be great if I could take the dog.  We don’t like to leave Kizzy out…  So I’m thinking about renting a lake house for a week – but then you need to rent a boat, and you need to teach certain people how to park a boat, then we need to all get over being sad about the fact that Dad isn’t here to drive the boat …  Yeah, this probably isn’t a good idea.  Back to square one.

This entry was posted in Random Ramblings, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2012 and beyonddddddddd

  1. Globe Runner says:

    Wow, 4 weeks in India…. That will be a real adventure

Leave a Reply

