Celebrating Mondayness

I hate Mondays.  It probably stems from the fact that I love Sundays and Monday is the exact opposite of Sunday.  Just once, I would like to wake up, turn on the news, and hear, “Monday has been canceled, go back to sleep.”

Obviously this didn’t happen this morning, so I got up, got dressed, and started off to work. 

I took my usual, boring path which takes me by the alley almost every day.  But today I must have been more awake than normal because I finally noticed this sign!  (And I can’t belive that I have missed its awesomeness for the past 4 years!)

That’s right ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, this alley, Couch Place, is dedicated to James M. Nederlander. 

So who is James M. Nederlander?  Is he the equivalent of a D-list celebrity?  Someone with just enough importance that you want to recognize but not quite important enough to deserve an entire street renamed in their honor?  Thus an alley? 

I realize I could probably google his name but that takes all of the fun out of my imagination.  I believe that he saved the city of Chicago from rat infestation but stopped before he completely eradicated the problem thus the alley recognizing his attempts but not his complete success. 

Or maybe he saved the daughter of the aunt of the mother-in-law of a Chicago mayor (perhaps in this alley?) from being devoured by giant pigeons.

Or maybe Chicago was slowing sinking into the Lake and he came up with the brilliant plan to save it but accidentally caused an earthquake sized fissure down the middle of state street that took the lives of hundreds of cars and cost hundreds of millions of dollars to fix. 

Whatever.  I have a new measure for success.  I would like an alley named after me.  Perhaps for canceling Mondays (I have always been a big proponant of the 4 day work week).

This entry was posted in Random Ramblings, Wacky Wednesdays and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

