How to Bury a Bone When You Live in a Concrete Jungle

Last night I was standing next to the kitchen table and I watched Kizzy disappear behind the couch.  Just as I wandered over to investigate, Kizzy came trotting out with a bone hanging out of her mouth.  I realize that this shouldn’t be unusual but I haven’t given Kizzy a new bone in weeks.  Which means she was saving this one for a special moment. 

And this isn’t the first time that we’ve watched Kizzy disappear into some part of the house only to reappear with a bone that she buried and has now decided to recover. 

But burying a bone is hard when you don’t have access to a yard with grass and dirt.  So she has to be creative.  And it’s hard work.  It has to be hidden enough that she knows I won’t find it and throw it away.  But yet easily accessible. 

Last month she started barking at my closet and wouldn’t stop until I opened the door.  She ran in and pulled out a bone.  No idea how long it’s been in there.  Or how she put it in there.  Or how she remembered that she put it there and then decided that now was a good time to get it out.  

“This is a normal hiding place for bones. Please do not disturb.”

All I know for sure was that she remembered and wanted it right now!  How dare I close the closet door when she might eventually want in.

So I did what any logical dog mother would do … I went on a bone hunting trip.  (Followed closely by a highly suspicious dog who somehow knew exactly what I was up to.) 

I found bone under the couch. 

“Don’t you dare move this bone, mother.”

Then I found another hiding behind the bedroom door…

“Seriously, I am watching you.”

And yet another under the bed.  

“I worked hard to disguise this bone where only the very tip shows from underneath of the bed skirt. If you move it, I will not be pleased.”

Kizzy followed me around the house to make sure that I didn’t touch one of her treasures or maybe it was just to see if I could help her find new hiding place.  And for each picture, she stopped and posed.  Except for under the bed.  It was really hard to get that picture because she kept wanting to block the camera.  This must have been her best hiding place and she didn’t want me to share it with the world for fear that a stranger may visit our house and steal her bone. 

So if you happen to run into my dog when she is out socializing, please don’t mention that you know where she hides her bones.  My life may depend on it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How to Bury a Bone When You Live in a Concrete Jungle

  1. filingjointly says:

    My dog does the exact same thing. She’s always jamming her head under the couch and popping back out with a bone.

    Also, I am totally going to see The Bloggess again when she’s in Chicago. Are you?

  2. My dog does the exact same thing. She’s always jamming her head under the couch and popping back out with a bone.

    Also, I am totally going to see The Bloggess again when she’s in Chicago. Are you?

    • Kizzy today took a bone into the laundry room and came out empty handed (er, empty mouthed?) but for the life of me I can’t find where she hid it!

      Yes! I’m excited and glad she is adding on to her tour. It would be great to meet you if we end up attending the same event at the same time. We could do the whole “I’ll be the one carrying a red rose” thing. Or maybe in honor of The Bloggess, it should be some sort of stuffed something.

Leave a Reply

