You mean we didn’t just have that conversation?

This is Keith.  It’s a good thing he loves me because he regularly has to put up with me.  He also has to put up with me harping on him about his beard.  (Seriously, it’s a good thing he doesn’t read this because then he would know that I don’t like the beard but I’m not allowed to say anything about it.  My sister’s won’t even fight this battle for me.  The deserters.  I’m secretly hoping it goes away before my reunion next month … I will keep you posted on this battle.)

Anyway, I have further proof that he has a horrible wife. 

On weekdays, Keith regularly gets up about 45 minutes before me (which stinks for him because we go to bed at the same time!  But I figure I’m just storing up sleep for my later life.)  Anyway, he’s usually dressed and ready to go by the time I start rolling out of bed.  We exchange perfunctory good mornings and how did you sleep comments, kiss, then he leaves for work.  (Such an exciting routine, I know). 

The other day, I woke up and asked him if I had already asked him how he slept.  He said no. 

And that was literally our entire conversation!  He left feeling bewildered and abandoned (no idea if that’s actually how he felt, but it is a good as a description as any other). 

But see, it’s not my fault because I thought we had an entire conversation.  I asked him how he slept, he said fine, I asked how the markets were, and he said up, I asked if he had plans after work and he said yes but he would be in contact with me during the day. 

Turns out, not only did I not actually have that conversation with him, all of those things were false.  He did not sleep well, the markets were down, and he didn’t have any plans. 

I know that I am not the only person who has entire conversations with people in their head.  And then when you see that person, and reference that conversation, they act all confused when you know that they know exactly what you are talking about.  Next you get upset because you don’t feel like they value your conversations if they can’t even remember them.  And then you realize that you are wrong.  I hate being wrong.  I hate being wrong even more when it means someone else is right.  Argh.

Last night I dreamed that the entire city lost power.  It was a miserable dream.  Especially since we are experiencing unending days of 90+ degree weather.  I was very relieved to wake up to the cold air conditioning and to discover that I had made the whole thing up and it wasn’t true.  And so far it hasn’t come true!  (Knock on wood.)  So I guess that if had to pick between having pretend conversations and dreams that come true, I would pick pretend conversations any day.  Especially if losing power in a heat wave is a typical dream.  I would have to choose differently if I could force myself to dream about winning the lottery.

This entry was posted in Random Ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

