It’s All a Matter of Perspective

My SIL and her husband Scott (does that make him my brother-in-law-in-law?) are off having an adventure in South America.  They haven’t been home since our trip to Antarctica over the Christmas holidays. 

Don’t get me wrong, I love to travel.  But I like to travel in 3 (or even better, 4, and I love 5) star hotels with airplanes ferrying me between destinations.  I like to have each trip planned, know where I’m going next, and when I’m going to be home.  (OK, my mom also needs to know these things so maybe it’s inherited). 

Scott and Lisa?  They are completely the opposite.  They like to travel for the adventure, the thrill, the experience.  They’ve camped on beaches, stayed in guest houses that were recently flooded by the Amazon river and housed tarantulas, survived crappy hotel rooms and even had their own apartment at one time.  They take buses and boats and buggies to whatever destination suits their fancy. 

A couple of weeks ago, they visited the Uyuni Salt Flats in Bolivia.  These plains cover 4,000 square miles and variance in height is less than 3 feet.  Across the entire thing! 

Anyway, just so that you get an idea of how boring and unexciting their lives are, here are some of their pictures. 

Sometimes it’s hard to get anyone to respect the little people.