I’ve Heard of Polo. And I’ve Heard of Elephants. But I’ve Never Heard of Elephant Polo.

We are working on a trip to India and I was doing a little research on the various hotels where we are planning on staying.  Checking out the quality of service, room options, dining … alright, fine, that’s a lie.  I was actually trying to figure out what to wear.

And then I got sidetracked.  I was flipping through a montage of pictures trying to determine the perfect outfit.  Most of the pictures were of the exterior of the palace, the beautiful gardens, the spas and rooms … you know, the usual pictures you post when you want to entice a potential guest to your facility. 

But one picture sealed the deal for me.  

Guests playing elephant polo. 

Seriously!  I didn’t even know this was an option.  But I totally want to ride an elephant while using a long pole to hit a little ball through a small … well, actually, I have no idea what you hit the ball through to score a point.  Perhaps I should do some more research so that I can be sure to win.

But I can guarantee that I will have a picture of me playing this game after our trip to India.  And if I can figure out how to dress up in traditional Indian clothing, well, that would just be ridiculous.  If I can make this happen, then it would be my Facebook profile picture for life. 

And then when I go to those organized meet and greets where they ask you for one interesting fact about yourself, I can say I played Elephant Polo while wearing traditional royal garments.  Here, I just happen to have a picture.

This entry was posted in India, Random Ramblings, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’ve Heard of Polo. And I’ve Heard of Elephants. But I’ve Never Heard of Elephant Polo.

  1. That sounds like a blast! How wild is that?!

  2. Pingback: The Rambagh Palace | Definition of Sanity

Leave a Reply

