Sometimes it doesn’t pay to be cheap

Pic1I really wanted to get family photos with the puppies.  I had visions of us walking as a family down a tree-lined path over a ground coated in colored leaves …

But reality is that my visions are expensive.  After getting quotes in the several hundred dollar range – for photos of dogs – I realized that there was no way my significant other was going to agree to this undertaking.

So I had the brilliant idea to call the camera store in my home town to see if they happened to know of any amateur photographers that would be willing to take pictures of dogs with humans.

I was in luck – the lady who answered the phone happened to have someone in the shop right then.  After a long conversation, where one of my questions was specifically, do you use old, ugly 80s backgrounds for your interior pictures?  No?  That’s great!  And you charge $50?  Fantastic!

We set up a time to meet the following weekend.

I warned my sisters, picked out a shirt for hubby, did my hair – and then proceeded to drag my entire family to this woman’s house.

A nice, normal house.

The first thing you notice when you walk in the front door was the smell of thousands of animals.

Then you notice that the walls are covered in glamor shots of our photographer when she was younger.  And I don’t mean to judge but I originally thought those photos were of her daughter.  It was strange.

And finally, you see the one thing you did not ever want to see.  The ugly 80s background.

I swear.  I have a photo of myself in front of this same background when I was elementary school.

Fine.  Whatever.  We can make do.

But then she turns to us and asks sister and hubby specifically – “Did any of you even bother to look in the mirror this morning.  I mean, did you?”  And then she repeated it to Hubby.  And to Mom.

Fine, we weren’t all wearing matching white shirts with khaki pants.  But the patterns were OK.  None of it would have mattered anyway if there wasn’t an 80s firework background!

I will give her credit for being good at getting the dogs to tilt their heads for photos.  Of course, the first time she made her crazy noises, the whole family, including the dogs, were so surprised that we all tilted our heads.

So other than the ugly background, topped by the blue background that she promised but didn’t use, and then the top corner of her living room, I think the photos turned out all right.  Now I just need to make them black and white.

This entry was posted in Kizzy, Random Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

